Local elections kick off today

The local election campaign formally kicks off today. It’s the largest test of democracy since the general election as we have two years of elections in one, including all the councils which were due to have elections in 2020.

In addition to the Scottish Parliament, Senedd Cymru and GLA, all Police and Crime Commissioners are up for election, and the following councils.

County Councils: Cambridgeshire, Derbyshire, Devon, East Sussex, Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Hertfordshire, Kent, Lancashire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Norfolk, Nottinghamshire, Oxfordshire, Staffordshire, Suffolk, Surrey, Warwickshire, West Sussex, Worcestershire

Unitary councils: Blackburn with Darwen, Bristol, Buckinghamshire, Cornwall, Derby, Durham, Halton, Hartlepool, Isle of Wight, Kingston-upon-Hull, Milton Keynes, North East Lincolnshire, North Northamptonshire, Northumberland, Peterborough, Plymouth, Portsmouth, Reading, Shropshire, Slough, Southampton, Southend-on-Sea, Swindon, Thurrock, Warrington, West Northamptonshire, Wiltshire, Wokingham

Metropolitan boroughs: Barnsley, Bolton, Bradford, Bury, Calderdale, Coventry, Doncaster, Dudley, Gateshead, Kirklees, Knowsley, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside, Oldham, Rochdale, Rotherham, St Helens, Salford, Sandwell, Sefton, Sheffield, Solihull, South Tyneside, Stockport, Sunderland, Tameside, Trafford, Wakefield, Walsall, Wigan, Wirral, Wolverhampton

Non-metropolitan districts: Adur, Amber Valley, Basildon, Basingstoke and Deane, Brentwood, Broxbourne, Burnley, Cambridge, Cannock Chase, Castle Point, Cheltenham, Cherwell, Chorley, Colchester, Crawley, Daventry, Eastleigh, Elmbridge, Epping Forest, Exeter, Fareham, Gloucester, Gosport, Harlow, Hart, Hastings, Havant, Hyndburn, Ipswich, Lincoln, Maidstone, Mole Valley, North Hertfordshire, Norwich, Nuneaton and Bedworth, Oxford, Pendle, Preston, Redditch, Reigate and Banstead, Rochford, Rossendale, Rugby, Runnymede, Rushmoor, St Albans, Stevenage, Stroud, Tamworth, Tandridge, Three Rivers, Tunbridge Wells, Watford, Welwyn Hatfield, West Lancashire, West Oxfordshire, Winchester, Woking, Worcester, Worthing

Directly elected Mayors: Bristol, Doncaster, Liverpool, North Tyneside, Salford

Combined authority Mayors: London, Cambridgeshire, Greater Manchester, Liverpool City Region, Tees Valley, West of England, West Midlands

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *