Local elections coming up

Local elections are coming up in lots of district and unitary councils around the home counties, a few metropolitan councils (mainly in the north) and 4 mayoral elections including Bedford.

Unitary councils like Brighton, Bournemouth, Central Beds, Luton, Peterborough, Wokingham, Windsor, MK, Reading and Southampton will be joining a mass of district councils – from Elmbridge, Colchester, Ipswich, Sevenoaks, Uttlesford, Cambridge and the Vale of White Horse to hold elections in their areas. Whilst the Unitary councils tend to hold all-out elections, the districts can vary between full and thirds (electing a third every year over a four year cycle).

Elections take place on the first Thursday of May – so that’s 4th May.

There is one change this year that voters are going to have to get used to. Voter ID, which means you have to take your passport, driving licence, disabled or older person’s bus pass (!), or over 60 Oyster card. If you don’t fancy carrying your passport around with you, you can take an out-of-date passport, providing you still look similar to the photo.

We’ve got three resources for you.

  1. Our localcouncils.co.uk map. Click here to open in a new tab, or see below.
  2. A comprehensive list of the Mayors, Metropolitan Boroughs, Unitary Authorities and District Councils that are up for election (click here or see below the map).
  3. Or give us a call on 020 7587 3047, or email hello@thorncliffe.com

Here’s the list of elections

Mayors: Bedford, Leicester, Mansfield, Middlesbrough

Metropolitan Boroughs: Barnsley, Bolton, Bradford, Bury, Calderdale, Coventry, Dudley, Gateshead, Kirklees, Knowsley, Leeds, Liverpool, Manchester, Newcastle upon Tyne, North Tyneside, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Sandwell, Sefton, Sheffield, Solihull, South Tyneside, Stockport, Sunderland, Tameside, Trafford, Wakefield, Walsall, Wigan, Wirral, Wolverhampton

Unitary authorities: Bath and North East Somerset, Bedford, Blackburn with Darwen, Blackpool, Bournemouth Christchurch and Poole, Bracknell Forest, Brighton and Hove, Central Bedfordshire, Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Darlington, Derby, East Riding of Yorkshire, Halton, Hartlepool, Herefordshire, Kingston-upon-Hull, Leicester, Luton, Medway, Middlesbrough, Milton Keynes, North East Lincolnshire, North Lincolnshire, North Somerset, Nottingham, Peterborough, Plymouth, Portsmouth, Reading, Redcar and Cleveland, Rutland, Slough, South Gloucestershire, Southampton, Southend-on-Sea, Stockton-on-Tees, Stoke-on-Trent, Swindon, Telford and Wrekin, Thurrock, Torbay, West Berkshire, Windsor and Maidenhead, Wokingham, York

Lower-tier districts: Amber Valley, Arun, Ashfield, Ashford, Babergh, Basildon, Basingstoke and Deane, Bassetlaw, Blaby, Bolsover, Boston, Braintree, Breckland, Brentwood, Broadland, Bromsgrove, Broxbourne, Broxtowe, Burnley, Cambridge, Cannock Chase, Canterbury, Castle Point, Charnwood, Chelmsford, Cherwell, Chesterfield, Chichester, Chorley, Colchester, Cotswold, Crawley, Dacorum, Dartford, Derbyshire Dales, Dover, East Cambridgeshire, East Devon, East Hampshire, East Hertfordshire, East Lindsey, East Staffordshire, East Suffolk, Eastbourne, Eastleigh, Elmbridge, Epping Forest, Epsom and Ewell, Erewash, Exeter, Fenland, Folkestone and Hythe, Forest of Dean, Fylde, Gedling, Gravesham, Great Yarmouth, Guildford, Harborough, Harlow, Hart, Havant, Hertsmere, High Peak, Hinckley and Bosworth, Horsham, Hyndburn, Ipswich, King’s Lynn and West Norfolk, Lancaster, Lewes, Lichfield, Lincoln, Maidstone, Maldon, Malvern Hills, Mansfield, Melton, Mid Devon, Mid Suffolk, Mid Sussex, Mole Valley, New Forest, Newark and Sherwood, North Devon, North East Derbyshire, North Hertfordshire, North Kesteven, North Norfolk, North Warwickshire, North West Leicestershire, Norwich, Oadby and Wigston, Pendle, Preston, Redditch, Reigate and Banstead, Ribble Valley, Rochford, Rossendale, Rother, Rugby, Runnymede, Rushcliffe, Rushmoor, St Albans, Sevenoaks, South Derbyshire, South Hams, South Holland, South Kesteven, South Norfolk, South Oxfordshire, South Ribble, South Staffordshire, Spelthorne, Stafford, Staffordshire Moorlands, Stevenage, Stratford-on-Avon, Surrey Heath, Swale, Tamworth, Tandridge, Teignbridge, Tendring, Test Valley, Tewkesbury, Thanet, Three Rivers, Tonbridge and Malling, Torridge, Tunbridge Wells, Uttlesford, Vale of White Horse, Warwick, Watford, Waverley, Wealden, Welwyn Hatfield, West Devon, West Lancashire, West Lindsey, West Oxfordshire, West Suffolk, Winchester, Woking, Worcester, Worthing, Wychavon, Wyre, Wyre Forest

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *